Closet Country Fan

Have you ever found yourself in a place you never imagined you would be? For me, that place was a country concert.

img_7641

For most of my life, I have been an avid concert goer. But, I promise that was never once to a country concert. I would not have been caught dead at one.

I have sworn for years that I would never like country music. I guess this is the perfect time to say, never say never. If you turn on a country radio station, I am definitely going to turn it off. However, I have discovered a few country artists that now grace my Spotify playlists. They have found a musical home wedged in between artists such as flor, Halsey, James Bay, Nick Jonas, Ed Sheeran, Taylor Swift, and many more. Country artists settling in between these names are Kelsea Ballerini, Dan + Shay, Maren Morris, Maddie & Tae, Thomas Rhett, and a few more. Now, if you search by genre, country will not be empty.

When I become fixated with any new artist, I become fixated with seeing them perform live. I immediately look up their tour dates. In this case, the artist in question is Kelsea Ballerini. I was obsessed with her music, it came to me at exactly the right time in my life.  The summer of 2015 was when she came into my life. Of course, when I looked up tour dates she was not coming anywhere close to where I live. Well, at least not for a year. That is what I did, I waited a year to see her live. Let me tell you it was well worth the wait.

Our story picks up September 2016.  I had tickets to see Kelsea open for Rascal Flatts on their Rhythm and Roots Tour. It was my very first country concert. And to boot, I had a meet and greet pass to meet Kelsea before the show. It is a nerve-wracking feeling waiting in line to meet someone you only know through song. I could tell you every detail of my meet and greet. Or, I could tell you my favorite part. I knew that if I could only tell her one thing, it was that it is because of her I started to listen to country music. I said to her, simply put, “Before I started listening to your music, I hated country music. If It came on the radio I wold turn it off. No one could convince me to listen to it.” Now, because of her, I have found so many other artists within the genre of country that I truly enjoy listening to. She said that is one of the greatest compliments she ever received. We also discussed our mutual love of shoes. Overall, it was a sweet experience.

img_7657

My greatest take away from this, is that within each genre of music lies a family. A community that comes together through song. I witnessed this through her fans and all people there to enjoy a country concert. Is country my favorite genre? No, absolutely not. Is my country playlist on Spotify hidden and named Closet Country Fan? Yes, yes it is. But, I don’t regret opening my eyes to county music. There are countless artists I have yet to discover. So, the next time someone says, “Listen to this song, I think you’ll like it.” open your ears to what could be the best thing you have yet to discover.

 

 

Leave a Reply

