Entertain The Uncomfortable

IMG_4299

 

I have a bachelor’s degree. I have a bachelor’s degree. This realization came to me while driving home with my best friend two days after my college graduation. As cliché as it sounds, I never thought this day would come. I am a college graduate.

I still remember my freshman move in day. Heck, I remember the outfit I wore on that day. Between then and now I created many memories. I joined my sorority, studied abroad, celebrated my 21st birthday, attend countless concerts, and traveled to Los Angeles for spring break to just name a few. When they say college is four of the best years of your life, they aren’t kidding. College killed it. However, I spent an exciting yet comfortable four years at Duquesne University.

Now, it is time for me to step outside of my comfort zone.

“Our ability to grow is directly proportional to an ability to entertain the uncomfortable.”

Uncomfortable: just hearing the word makes a person feel just that ‘uncomfortable.’ When someone is uncomfortable they do everything in their power to get comfortable very quickly. However, the state of my life that I’m currently in requires me to be uncomfortable and stay uncomfortable. That is exactly what I plan on doing. As I said above, college was great but now it is time for me to grow. Grow beyond the past four years of my life. To grow I have to step outside of my comfort zone. The years I spent in college have prepared me for the next chapter of my life.

Do I know what the next chapter of my life is? No, I don’t. But that is okay. The only thing I do know is that to get there, I must entertain the uncomfortable. I will not grow any other way. I know what I would like to do. I know that involves stepping outside of my comfort zone. I want to move. I want to move to California to be exact. I want to find a job in entertainment and move to a city I love but makes me uncomfortable. It does not make me uncomfortable in a bad way; it makes me uncomfortable because it is new. New is exactly what I need. All of my post-grad life will be new. I am ready to go forward, entertain the uncomfortable, and see what happens.

I may not know exactly what day I will move to California. But, I know it will be soon and I know I will entertain the uncomfortable from now until then.

Leave a Reply

