It’s Okay To Grow Out Of Things

I am taking on 2015 with a new spin on life. I have never been one for new years resolutions. You can make a decision to change your life at any point in the year; it does not have to be January 1st.

That being said, with the start of a new year and my final semester of college…It is time I take a lesson I learned in 2014 and integrate it into my everyday life.

So here it goes.

There is a difference between moving on and quitting. Understand that it’s okay to grow out of things.

You grow out of your favorite shoes or dress. You grow out of childhood crushes. You grow out of liking certain foods or TV shows. And, you grow out of people.

When you have a best friend, you cannot imagine life without them. You want to always have them by your side. Conversations of future experiences and being each other’s maids of honor happen. They are the one that knows you best (you know them best too). You give and you get advice. They just get you. You make promises that you will always be there for each other. You tell them their opinion always matters and to never be afraid to speak their mind, even if you will not like what they have to say. You do this for them and them for you. You have each other’s mutual best interest in mind. Life seems like a lot more fun when they are around.

But…

As much as I hate to admit or accept it, people change. Moving past this acceptance, I want to believe that people change for the better. I choose to believe this.

Even though, I also hate to admit when I am wrong, it is time that I do so. I was wrong about my above statement. Yes, people grow and people change. NO, it is not always for the better.

This is something I have learned all to well in the past year of my life. I had a person in my life that I called my “best” friend, whom I now call an old friend. Mind you, the word friend is used lightly here.

If you are a friend of mine, I value that very much. When someone I value does not reciprocate that, it hurts. It hurts. It hurts a lot.

I am not writing this to bash said person. I am merely writing this to show I have learned people change. People you never thought would change, they change. I have learned that it is okay to out grow people. Growing out of friendships is a natural part of life.

This past friendship of mine is something I am choosing to move on from. I have seen their true colors and I have chosen to move forward. I am not quitting.

I never thought I would, but it seems as though I have grown out of this friendship.

I do not regret any friendships; I do not regret this friendship. Every conversation and encounter I had with this person I do not regret. I know I always did the right thing, even if they do not believe that.

I have come to peace with the fact that I am choosing to move on. I have grown out of this friendship. I have learned another life lesson.

Life has taught me to value the good times with friends because you do not know when that will change. Life has taught me to do the right thing even if it is not the popular thing. Life has taught me that people change, sometimes for the better, but also in ways you did not see coming.

Moving on and quitting are so different. Do not worry; it is okay to grow out of things, even people. It is not quitting. It is standing up for you. Cutting people out of your life is not an easy task, however sometimes it is necessary.

Most important, I have learned that I am the most important person in my life. Putting myself first is not selfish. It is taking care of number one.

Do not be afraid to stand up for who you are and what you believe.

It’s okay to grow out of things.

As 2015 quickly approaches I will carry with me this new spin on life.

Leave a Reply

