Let Me Sell Your T-Shirts

Calling All Bands. Merch girl: Willing and ready to work.

It started in third grade. Box seats. Brittany Spears. My first concert. A little girls dream.

Jesse McCartney, The Jonas Brothers, Honor Society, The Ready Set, Allstar Weekend, The Summer Set, Warped Tour and many other bands. Many other concerts. Countless shows and years later going to concerts is my practically my job. It is safe to say I have lost count of how many concerts I have been to. But I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Summer Concerts mean warm, hopeful weather, outdoor venues, the shining summer sun, festivals, tailgating, road trips, and endless possibilities.

Fall/Winter Concerts mean new music, flannels, crushing hard on band boys, local shows, local bands, and a whole lot of fun.

You may wonder why I am telling you this. All of the things above are great. But there is one thing I love more than anything at a show.

What is that you ask? Well let me tell you.

It is Merch.

Yes. I repeat. Merch.

Merchandise, goodies, souvenirs. Whatever you want to call it. That is what I am talking about.

You are probably thinking, “So you are telling me that your favorite part of a concert is a t-shirt?” If you are, then your thinking is correct. 100% right.

But, please let me explain.

You see, it is much more then a t-shirt.

It is what’s behind the t-shirt. It is the experience of buying that shirt. It is the memory of buying the shirt.

1st: You have to decide which shirt you want to buy. More thought goes into that than you think. Do you get the one with a picture of the band? Do you get the one with tour dates on the back? You want people to know which show you went to… Do you get the one with your favorite lyrics on it? Wait, what about the one with the cool artsy graphic thing on it? It would make you look hipster and you’d have to explain it to people. That’d be cool, right? Long sleeve, short sleeve, tank…oh my goodness, so many choices

2nd: Okay so the decision is made. You went for the combo of lyrics and artsy graphic. Hipster but not too hipster. Now here comes the best part; you buy it. Money is exchanged (along with a wink at the cute merch guy) and that perfect, nothing could be better, I cannot wait to wear it shirt is yours. (All shopaholics understand this rush)

3rd: A little known fact is that at small general admission shows (basically all the shows I attend), the bands hang out by their merch tables. Prime time meet and greet. Okay so I lied earlier, this is best part of buying merch. Nothing is better then getting to meet your favorite artists. You talk to them about, the show, life, your shirt of course, and everything else that flows out of you. Do not forget about that awesome Instagram picture you will take with them. New profile pic, I think yes. That conversation is one you will play over and over in your head time after time. Everything about it is perfect. You just talked to your favorite band; no one can take that away from you.

After that it is all said and done, you will carry that memory with you forever. You will think of it every time you wear that shirt. You will think of it every time you look at that picture. You will think of it every time you hear a song from that show

Here we are again: So now, you are probably like, okay so you bought a shirt what’s the big deal?

No worries, I will tell you. I have been that girl buying a t-shirt from a cute merch guy. I have been that girl who spoke to her favorite band members.

I am that girl that will hold onto those memories forever.

No one will take that away from me.

I love my experiences so much. Each one holds a special place in my heart. I want to give that to other people. I want to see the delight on a fans face as they look at the merch. I want to hear the tone of elation in their voice when they talk to their favorite band member. I want to take that new profile picture for them. I want to be part of the best experience they will ever have.

This is why I want to be a merch girl. This is why I want to tour. I want the opportunity to touch the lives of fans that make music their soul.

Live music and traveling is my soul. Let me share that with others.

Let me sell your t-shirts.

 

Leave a Reply

