Yik To The Yak

What could be better then a new social media for users to share content anonymously? You can say whatever you want, short of phone numbers, calling people out, and threats. Say what you want, get if off your chest, and no one will know it was you. Initially, it sounds like a great idea. Right?

Yik Yak is a new form of social media that is taking college campuses by storm. I will admit that when I first heard of it, I immediately downloaded it. I thought it would be a fun way to communicate with my peers.

My reaction has drastically changed since my college campus has taken a great liking to this social media. Duquesne has taken Yik Yak by storm, and I do not mean that in a good way. For those of you not using Yik Yak to bash others or their organizations, I commend you. And I thank you. Keep doing what you are doing.

However, for those of you using it in another context, I have something I would like to say to you. I understand that I cannot make do anything. I can only ask. So please hear me out.

First, I have a question for you. Have you ever been a part of something that means more to you then words? Something you love so much, that no matter how hard you try you cannot form words to describe how much it means to you. Well I have. That is exactly how I feel about my sorority. Being a sister of Alpha Gamma Delta has changed my life. It truly does mean more to me than words. So imagine how I feel when others attempt to tear down my organization. It is not something I take lightly.

Women are suppressed enough in our society. Why does anyone feel the need to suppress them even more? As women, even greater than that, as Panhellenic women, we have to stand up for what we know is right. We need to do everything in our power to combat the negativity coming our way.

To that, I challenge you. I challenge you to think twice before you post. Think twice about why you joined your organization. Think twice about how you feel when you read those hurtful words. Are those words, things you actually believe or want society to believe? No, probably not. Would you say it to a person’s face? If you wouldn’t then do not post it either.

On top of that, if you are not posting these hurtful words but you know someone who is, challenge them to stop. Call them on the carpet. They are no more than a bully. You are no better then them if you are watching them take these actions and do nothing about it.

Instead of posting negative things, either post nothing, or combat the negative posts by posting positive things. Do not stand for hurtful and harmful words. Your organization is better than that.

You are better than that.

This may be a fad. It may come and go. But until then, I know you know what is right. Stand up for that.

Leave a Reply

