Stop Throwing Skinny Under The Bus

IMG_7491I usually try and stay away from talking about weight and dress size because I have had a lot of people tell me my opinion is irrelevant because of how skinny I am. I no longer feel the need to keep my mouth shut.

Zero is a size.

It’s my size. Actually, double zero is my size. Yes, I am that girl that wears a size that people say does not exist. Funny thing though, I exist.

News flash: My opinion is relevant.

My size is not my choice. It’s my natural stature. So please, don’t tell me to go eat a burger. I do eat burgers. Heck, I’ll eat a double cheeseburger, fries, and a shake and still want more food.

My size is realistic. This is the real me. I cannot change that. This is who I am. It is why I am so tired of hearing “zero is not a size” or “no one looks like that.” And, no, I am not a model. But hey, models are people too.

I am not saying I agree with the media only shoving thin, air brushed pictures of models in our faces. However, that does not mean it is okay to say that those models and people of that size are not real people. Don’t throw skinny under the bus.

Instead of focusing on one size, focus on all sizes. Focus on sending a positive message to women to be happy and confident with their size. Whatever that size is. Negativity gets us nowhere people. You can be successful and happy no matter what size you are. You are the most important person in your life. You have to love yourself first before you can love anyone else.

We will all face discrimination against our bodies. Look past that discrimination and know you are better than that. Don’t throw skinny under the bus and don’t throw any other size under the bus. All aboard, let’s get on the bus together. Help each other be confident and love who you are.

Leave a Reply

