Let’s Get Warped

My day at Warped Tour

Over 100 bands on 10 stages, the summer sun, and a day full of possibilities: Welcome to Warped Tour 2014. For me this means breaking out my high waisted shorts, converse, and summer concert free spirit.

Every year I highly anticipate Warped Tour and the adventures it will bring me. I always say my senior superlative should have been “Most Likely to be Found at A Concert.” So then what could be better then seeing four of your favorite bands in one day? Not much in my opinion.

July 15, 2014 at First Niagara Pavilion in Pittsburgh, PA was where I found my day at Warped. The beginning of the day is full of promise and possibility to make it the best day ever. I love concerts, but I love summer concerts even more. Obviously, with the immense amount of bands that perform, it is not possible to see every single one. Of course I had a list of the top bands.

  1. The Summer Set
  2. Echosmith
  3. We The Kings
  4. We Are The In Crowd

The first band of the day for my friends and me was We Are The In Crowd. A solid start to the day. Taylor Jardine is one fierce girl. This wasn’t my first time seeing them perform but it definitely was the best. The next set we had to see was We The Kings. I have been a fan of them for years but I had never had the opportunity to see them live. But let me tell you, the wait was so worth it. Travis Clark knows how to perform. I enjoyed every second of their set. I didn’t want it to end, but when it did end they closed with Check Yes Juliet. If you don’t know that song then I don’t know if we can be friends. (Look it up if you have to) That song was the best way to end their set. Warped Tour is right where they belong. It is one thing to watch their set, but if you ever get so lucky it is another thing to meet Travis Clark.

Travis Clark is hands down one of the sweetest band members I have ever met. I was lucky enough to have the opportunity to meet him on Tuesday and I’m so happy I did. He truly cares about every single one of his fans that take the time to meet him. He will have a full conversation with you and just put the biggest smile on your face. People like him are part of the reason why I want to work in the music industry. If you know anything about We The Kings set, you know Travis incorporates the “sorority squat” into it. Being a sorority girl myself, I had to teach him a thing or two about how we roll. So of course we “sorority squatted” but I also taught him to “throw what you know” (if you’re not a sorority girl then look it up) He was a good sport about it and made me laugh in the process. Moral of the story: Watch We The Kings perform live and find a way to meet Travis Clark. Okay, cool. Moving on.

IMG_8102

My absolute favorite part of the day was next. Hello The Summer Set. Not only am I mildly in love with the lead singer (Hi there Brian Logan Dales), but I am also intensely in love with their music. I could listen to it 24/7 and it would never get old. The only thing better then a good TSS jam session is watching them live. No one, I repeat, no one has stage presence like The Summer Set. I’ve been to quite a few concerts, but without a doubt my favorite memories arise from TSS shows. There is nothing I love more than singing along to every lyric of every song and dancing like there is no tomorrow. This is exactly what happens during a Summer Set concert. I don’t know else to say besides, I LOVE THEM. Make it your priority to see them live. I promise you won’t regret it.

IMG_8047 IMG_8103

For lack of a better way of putting it, last but certainty not least, came Echosmith’s set. Recently Echosmith’s music has worked their way onto my iPod. I’ve known about them for over a year now but I am just now staring to become a huge fan. Go download their album “Talking Dreams” it will be the best addition to your music library in a long time. Your music library will even thank you for it.

When you are a concert junkie like me, seeing a band for the first time is an all time high. So getting to see Echosmith for the first time meant an awful lot to me. The front woman Sydney Sierota may be four years younger, but it’s safe to say I kinda want to be her. She totally kills it on stage. She was meant to sing and she rocks it. Not to mention she and the rest of Echosmith (all siblings) are super sweet. I got the chance to talk to them and it made me like them even more. They rock it on and off the stage.

IMG_8160

Successful, epic, awesome: Just a few words to describe my day at Warped Tour. If you haven’t gone before, I suggest you do. I got to rock high waisted shorts while listening to some of my favorite bands live. It doesn’t get much better than that. It’s a place to let out my summer concert free spirit. At the end of the day you may find yourself a hot, sweaty mess, but it’s so worth it.

IMG_7992

Leave a Reply

